1-800-342-0019 Speak to a River Cruise Expert

Viking Cruises Reviews

4.3/5 - Excellent

Based off 2,061 Reviews

Viking River Cruises Customer Reviews

Overall Rating
4.3
Accommodations
4.2
Itinerary
4.3
Professional Staff
4.6
Repeat with Operator
4.2
Value for Money
4

We Are Committed To:

Call Us For a Free Quote at 1-800-342-0019

Call for Best Value and Service on Viking River Cruises

Ratings based off 2,061 reviews about Viking River Cruises - currently showing 50 reviews with comments only
RK
Robert
Reviewed on Feb 10, 2020

Very fun. Learned a lot. Met good people. Had wonderful local guides. Excellent safety.

SC
Soon
Reviewed on Dec 14, 2019

Viking met and exceeded our expectation. It was our very first river cruise and we're simply blown away with the overall experience. The room was always kept neat and tidy. The food and wait staff were outstanding. All the included excursions were great. Couldn't have ask for a better trip. Another check mark off our bucket lists!

JB
Jacqueline

Our Viking Cruise was nearly flawless. They go out of their way to make sure you have a lovely time. The accommodations are a little plain but most of what you do is off the ship. We loved the comfort of the modern busses and the use of the headsets to hear what the guide was saying made it so easy to catch every word. The guides are the best in the industry. The itineraries were all very interesting. We did not feel that we wasted a minute of our time. The food was excellent and included local recipes along with many other choices. The wine was great and was included with each meal. There was always some kind of entertainment in the evening. The set up on the ship made it possible to easily mingle with other guests.

JF
Judith
Reviewed on Dec 01, 2019

The staff on the Viking Cruise were phenomenal. They were very pleasant, attentive and accommodating. The Program Director, David, was energetic and enthusiastic. He skillfully managed problems that arise that were beyond his control(climate related). He did so in a positive and update manner. Lufthansa Airlines was very disappointing. The loading procedures both here and in Germany were very disorganized. We almost missed a connecting flight! On our return.

JL
John
Reviewed on Dec 01, 2019

The eight day trip through Hungary, Austria, and Germany on the Danube to visit historic sights and the various Christmas Markets was a wonderful experience. The Viking cruise met our highest expectations. Be prepared for a range of temperatures from the 40's to below freezing.

LA
Linda
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2019

Karen did a great job coordinating this wonderful trip from Miami to Zurich .we flow many airlines before, but Swiss Air is the best. Cruise was great , staff was very courteous , helpful and attentive to our needs. . Will try Viking in the future.

LS
Laura

Wonderful experience. A dream journey!!

CG
Christine
Reviewed on Nov 11, 2019

This was one of the best trips I have ever been on!

AC
Anne
Reviewed on Nov 10, 2019

Katherine did an excellent job suggesting a Viking River Tour. We had a fabulous time.

MD
Mary
Reviewed on Nov 10, 2019

This was by far the best trip we have ever taken, and we will likely go on another Viking River cruise after this experience. Viking is very organized and the included tours are interesting and well done. Everywhere we traveled, we had local guides so we got an insiders look at the cities and additional interesting information.

BL
Bruce
Reviewed on Oct 30, 2019

The Viking Roof of the World was executed perfectly! We had the same guide for every included excursion and Viking includes excursions at every site. The onboard ship credit that AffordableTours gave us was generous. When translated into Yuan, the Chinese currency used on board, it gave us even more value. The ship is a Chinese ship with Chinese crew, however, so their English was not perfect. We had to speak slowly and repeat our requests sometimes to get the message across. Overall, I would recommend this cruise to anyone interested in a tour of China.

VS
Valerie

We had a wonderful time. Everyone from the Captain, Cruise Director, Manager and Chef were great. The crew was the best of the three cruised we took with Viking. Sorin the Mate De was very friendly and met all our need. The wait staff in the dinning room were very happy to make our experience great.

RR
Ronnie

This our third trip with Viking. All the trips have each had their own uniqueness. The trip on Danube has been our least favorite. This opinion is given due to the fact that it was the trip that was to a venue that has a lot of river traffic. At each port we were docked with another ship on the river side of our boat and blocked our view. There is really something special about visiting Vienna and Passau. The Legend was an older ship and that made it less pleasurable and the staff were not as friendly and welcoming as the other two trips. The dining room wait staff was terrific, as were the other two cruises and the food was excellent. I would recommend booking this trip, even with these reservations.

KS
Kathryn
Reviewed on Oct 22, 2019

Once again Affordable delivers!

MP
Mary
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2019

The Viking employees were very helpful and professional.

GP
Gregory
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2019

while viking wasn't my choice, they did an admirable job

PK
Pamela

Great experience on River Cruise with Viking

JW
Jaydee
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2019

We have done lots of ocean cruises and one other river cruise before this trip. We had friends and others that told us that Viking was absolutely the best line for River Cruises, so we decided to find out for ourselves. We can honestly say that we enjoyed every aspect of our Viking experience, but honestly have to say based on our other cruise trips, that they are comparable in their accommodations, food and great service, but we wouldn't go so far as to say they are the best as we feel they are over-priced compared to other cruise companies.

RF
Raouf
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2019

We have been on four cruises with Viking. They have spoiled us for any other cruise line.

CR
Cheryl

We enjoyed our Viking cruise very much. Would definitely book another cruise. The Rhine river cruise was great.

EL
Edward
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2019

If we had questions we could always call & get answers. This was our first river cruise so we were unfamiliar with what to bring, etc. the cruise was everything we expected & more. Thank you Shannon.

SL
Sheri
Reviewed on Sep 24, 2019

We took the Danube river sailing and had a wonderful time. There was amazing fresh landscapes to amaze you around every curve, swans fishermen flowers cottages small towns castles some standing still some falling down too. I only took 1853 pictures this trip and will be back in a couple of years after taking other destinations on Viking River Cruises!

MH
Martha
Reviewed on Sep 24, 2019

It was an excellent trip. Very good itinerary.

KA
Karen
Reviewed on Sep 24, 2019

We were more than pleased with the Viking China trip! Our guide was phenomenal and Viking went above and beyond their call of duty in caring for the passengers. A lady in our group fell in the Chongqing airport and broke her hip, having to go to the hospital. Viking pulled one of their English speaking guides and placed him with the couple at the hospital to act as interpreter. Hospital would not go forward with surgery until couple paid. Couple had trouble getting money wired so Viking stepped in to financially cover expenses so surgery could proceed. My husband and I were so impressed!

AS
Angeline
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2019

Viking takes excellent care of their guests.....felt very safe and very secure

RC
Ronald
Reviewed on Sep 17, 2019

Shannon made everything easy and it was a great trip exactly as we had asked for.

LC
Larry
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2019

Waterways of the Tsars ,by Viking river cruises, provides a great way to study Russian history and culture; not only St. Petersburg and Moscow but also the small villages on the river.

LW
Lindsay

Trip met and by far exceeded all expectations, and was made even better thanks to our experience with Soazig, our Affordable Tours rep.

TH
Terry
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2019

one of the Best trips we have taken. From beginning to the end, every aspect was number 1, people, food and tours. Will go on another Viking cruise for sure!

DW
Denise

I Would like to see Viking offer more flexible dinner times right now everyone sits down at 7 o'clock and you're done eating by eight. I think it's too regimented, it almost felt like a sit down buffet .

DS
Duane
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2019

Viking River Cruises was wonderful. This was our 3rd trip with them, and we would highly recommend them.

SR
Sherry
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2019

Marianne was extremely helpful in planning our trip and making arrangements for air. She was also helpful during the trip when a question arose. We will definitely book through Marianne. She is professional, efficient and knowledgeable and friendly. She makes you feel personally cared for.

CS
Chester
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2019

Excellent trip and arrangements.

LL
Lesa
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2019

This was a wonderful river cruise Staff was very accommodating Extra excursions were worth it

DH
David
Reviewed on Aug 18, 2019

Travel with Viking met and exceeded all of our travel expectations...including the transit plans, accommodations and the daily service. We will travel with Viking again...and Affordable Tours made it all happen efficiently.

TB
Thomas

Found southern France a very beautiful and interesting place. Mid August is a great time to visit since the area is less crowded-many people are away on holiday, university students are not back yet. The weather was warm but not as hot as it had been earlier. Loved Lyon-very comfortable exploring with guide and then by ourselves. Interesting old city center, a river port and silk weaving center. Vineyards on the hillsides all around. Great shore excursion to Beaujolais winery, even better visit to a truffle farm whose owner is so passionate about his work and his animals, and a farm that makes goat cheese. Loved the night time tour by flashlight through Viviens (the Lyon to Avignon direction has this tour at night-much better than the day tour going the other direction). It was like stepping into a history book and walking through a medieval town of narrow cobbled streets, houses and the seat of the bishop. The cathedral is closed at night. Many places to see Roman ruins. So much history. We chose this tour specifically because we wanted to see Avignon and were not disappointed. It is a completely walled city. The palace of the 14th century popes is amazing. The local guides are the stars of the Viking cruises-that\'s why we choose Viking. Their service and organization is excellent. The people in the area, on the ship and the guides were so friendly and we learned so much from them.

SG
Sandra

The affordable staff goes above and beyond to make your trip and travel what you deserve.

LB
Laurence
Reviewed on Aug 10, 2019

Great trip

DH
Donna
Reviewed on Aug 10, 2019

The 4 day pre-trip beginning in Geneva and ending in Zurich was the best we have ever had. The services provided by Viking was exceptional and the view of the Matterhorn Mountain was tremendous. We lucked out with the weather being exceptional during that time and the train ride from Zermatt to Zurich was everything anyone could ask for, the seats were comfortable, the food was great and the viewing unbelievable. Of all our travels, this was stood out the most!

EC
Edward
Reviewed on Aug 03, 2019

Good standards made the events very special!

RL
Robert
Reviewed on Aug 03, 2019

Excellent trip, excellent food and excellent crew. Probably the best riverboat cruise we have taken.

TF
Timothy

The staff and accommodations were exceptional!

BM
Bradford

At his was our second Viking River cruise and it was excellent. Highly recommend.

JS
Jane

Although it was a little confusing between Affordable Tours and Viking websites, Rich made it easy to navigate and was always available to assist.

BW
Barbara

We chose France's Finest on Viking based on the itinerary and because our anniversary is on Bastille Day and we wanted to be in France one year for our anniversary. Viking is very service oriented and always rate above average in my opinion. We took the included tours which gave an overview of the places we were docked. I especially enjoyed the small towns where we were docked and could walk from the boat. To get from the Rhoen river to the Seine river, we took the TGV fast trains. Viking took our luggage by truck and it was waiting in our stateroom when we boarded the second ship. The whole train trip was seamless as Viking reserved 1st class seats and their representatives guided the group from the ship to train and they were waiting for us in Paris. Entertainment was good as they brought groups on for evenings, food was also very good with selections for even the picky eaters but we are not foodies so for us it was very good. Viking is not upscale which suits us but if people like dressing up they should look at other ships. I guess you could says we like the Viking brand as this was our 5th & 6th Viking River cruises.

MW
Michael

Well organized-courteous & helpful staff-delicious meals with great choices-great tour guides-wonderful accomodations

SM
Sammye
Reviewed on Jun 29, 2019

Our cruise with Viking was disappointing. It was not due to Viking, but unavoidable circumstances. It became a bus cruise. A canal lock was broken just past our boarding . We were able to cruise the river in daylight hours only about 6 hours at the most during the entire week. Spent a lot of time on a bus. Not sure we want to do another river cruise.

MM
Marianne

Viking EIR cruise was EXCELLENT..new ship, clean,.lots of food, great service. Air France flight from ATL to CDG...plane was dirty and hot (80 degrees), spoiled and dried out food, poor service on flight, not willing to provide cooler air to breathe, all French speaking pilots no English on board, had one hour of turbulence with passengers screaming and throwing up, had to have emergency crew come on board when landed. PLEASE NEVER use Air France for the over seas flights. Delta and KLM have better service and food and cleaner planes. Also,...Affordable tours gave us $300 (264 Euros) credits on board while VIking gave their passengers $400 credits. Passengers told us. And PLEASE add the need for EUROS when going to Europe. You need $50 to $100 in Euros since there are tours (cheese making) and shops that do NOT take US cash or credit cards. The boat only takes Euros and credit cards. Your brochure and agents need to tell customers this. You have to pay Euros to use toilets as well. No free restrooms. I plan on contacting Cindy again for my next trip.

WF
Wendy
Reviewed on Jun 21, 2019

Really enjoyed our experience on the Viking River Cruise. Everything was done in a very professional and friendly manner. Would highly recommend. Our social director, Petra was exceptional!

GM
Grace

Viking cruises are wonderful. They offer numerous excursions to accommodate all guests and the tour guides are very knowledgeable. The food is excellent.


AffordableTours.com BBB Business Review

Better Business Bureau

AffordableTours.com is a proud recipient of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) awards 2006-2020 with A+ Rating.

It Pays To Refer! Earn Up To $200!

It's simple: Sign up your friends, family, and anyone to us and when they book you will receive an American Express gift card worth up to $200 in the mail for simply referring.

Read More

Get discounts by Email!