1-800-342-0019 Speak to a River Cruise Expert

Gate1 Cruises Reviews

4.4/5 - Excellent

Based off 164 Reviews

Gate1 River Cruises Customer Reviews

Overall Rating
4.4
Accommodations
4.3
Itinerary
4.4
Professional Staff
4.6
Repeat with Operator
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

We Are Committed To:

Call Us For a Free Quote at 1-800-342-0019

Guaranteed Low Prices on Gate1 River Cruises

Ratings based off 164 reviews about Gate1 River Cruises - currently showing 50 reviews with comments only
AC
Aileen
Reviewed on Nov 17, 2019

great and fun experience

WW
Wayne
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2019

Great trip,all went smoothly,great tour, lovely sites , great food and drinks. Will go again!!!

PM
Pamela
14 Day Danube River Cruise with Budapest & Prague Regensburg to Budapest, Monarch Princess
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2019

David was great. He helped me find a great cruise at a great price, which was a challenge considering that I was booking two single rooms.

MW
Michael
11 Day Affordable China with 4 Day Yangtze River Cruise (Los Angeles Special) Saturday Departure
4.2/5 - Very Good
Accommodations
3
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
3
Reviewed on Nov 11, 2019

The tour guide (Joe) was excellent. He met us at the terminal in Beijing, and stayed with the group until we had all boarded the return flight to New York City. All the tickets were on time, and the busses were all on time. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the areas of China that we visited. This was our first trip with Gate1, however we will look first at Gate1 for future travel arrangements.

NS
Nancee
Reviewed on Oct 27, 2019

Our tour was outstanding. Great service every day and always friendly and very accommodating.

KB
Kristi
Reviewed on Oct 27, 2019

We really enjoyed our Gate 1 river cruise. It was a great value for the money. Everything was as good or better than the Viking River Cruise we took the following week The crew was exceptional and the ship was clean and nice. The beds/pillows were the most comfortable we've ever had. Food was good with a nice variety. The trip through Belgium to Paris was a nice plus.

VR
Virginia
15 Day Danube River Cruise with Berlin, Dresden & Prague Regensburg to Budapest, Monarch Princess
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2019

Adam was excellent. Very helpful.

AM
Alice
Reviewed on Sep 26, 2019

Good tour, guides and great cruise director. Good could have been better.

RF
Rozanne
12 Day Danube River Cruise with Munich Regensburg to Budapest, Monarch Princess
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2019

The Gate 1 River Cruise was absolutely amazing.

BJ
Brenda
14 Day Danube River Cruise with Budapest & Prague Budapest to Regensburg, Monarch Princess
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Sep 13, 2019

Simple process and nice to have your own rep. Had travelled on viking before, and found our gate one tour very good compatible for better value

LW
Linda
16 Day Classic European River Cruise Amsterdam to Budapest, Monarch Governess
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2019

Gate 1 has wide choices of tours

FU
Francisco
14 Day Danube River Cruise with Warsaw, Krakow & Budapest Monarch Empress
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2019

We will definitely recommend Gate 1 to our family and to all our friends as well. The excellent service provided by the staff is very much commendable . Exceeded beyond our expectation.

WP
Warlito
14 Day Danube River Cruise with Warsaw, Krakow & Budapest Monarch Empress
4.6/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
3
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2019

Very much enjoyed our trip with the Gate 1 vacation tour. The selection of sites were beautiful, educational and unusual experience. We will book with them again by our next tour.

RS
Raj
Reviewed on Aug 09, 2019

My wife and I have spent 5+ years discussing this trip. It was everything we had hoped for. The tour company Gate1 staff were amazing. They were very knowledgeable and provided endless useful information, suggestions, and tips. Many of the other passengers on the tour were on their 3rd, 4th, 5th trips with Gate1. I would certainly travel with them in the future and will recommend them to others. We were very happy with the price we paid compared with other tour company packages that were similar.

PY
Peter
Reviewed on Jul 14, 2019

My husband, Peter, and I, together with two other couples took Gate 1's Monarch Countess, 7-day Amsterdam to Basel. It was a very well-organized Cruise. The staff were all pleasant and accommodating. The cabin and dining area were very clean. Our tour director Maarten was very knowledgeable and helpful. The activity host Nico was absolutely fun and energetic. We never had a dull moment aboard the riverboat. We used AT's emergency phone number when we couldn't find the embarkation point and our flight was delayed - and we got the response right away. Local tour guides in the included tour were very good except for the elderly lady in Mannheim. Affordable Tours = traveling for less, without sacrificing the quality. We will recommend Affordable Tours in a heartbeat. The invitation to review however, was only sent to my husband Peter, and he forwarded it to me. I wish that it was sent to me directly. I'm top 1% reviewer in NY for Trip Advisor. Actually I wanted to review Monarch Countess but it didn't pop up yet in TA's website.

YR
Yimadabattuni
17 Day Danube River Cruise with Warsaw, Krakow, Budapest & Prague Monarch Empress
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2019

Some of the optional tours lasted 8 hours which can make for a long day.

NK
Norma
Reviewed on Jun 28, 2019

Lots of walking, cobblestones, steps and hills. Few people if any changed clothing from their daytime tour for dinner.

SA
Sik
Reviewed on Jun 08, 2019

Our Gate1 cruise director Tanya is very professional and extremely helpful. She gave us detailed information about the excursions. Even during our extended stay in Moscow, we sought her assistance via WhatsApp and she responded promptly and kindly helped to arrange our transfer to the airport. A heartfelt thank you to Tanya. All in all it's a joyful experience to travel with Gate 1 and with Tanya.

JS
James
Reviewed on May 07, 2019

The English speaking guides were excellent:: Elena and Glafira.

SL
Sharon
14 Day Tulip Time River Cruise with Amsterdam & Paris Monarch Governess
4.6/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
3
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Apr 29, 2019

This River Cruise combined with a land package was a very enjoyable experience

AW
Albert
Reviewed on Apr 28, 2019

Gate 1 Danube River cruise exceeded our expectations and provided terrific service AND value! Beautiful ship and fabulous staff. Don't let their 'travel for less' slogan mislead you: they deliver FULL VALUE and service. We would travel with them again in a heartbeat.

JA
Jean
14 Day Danube River Cruise with Budapest & Prague Budapest to Regensburg, Monarch Princess
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2019

We had a wonderful time on this trip (14 day Danube with Budapest and Prague). One thing we noticed in the cabin: 1. Lack of outlets/USB ports at bedside tables 2. WiFi was really too basic. Dining room: While the breakfast and desserts were good, the lunch and dinner items left much to be desired. There was a lack of vegetable variety. The soups were very salty and the fish was fishy.

WC
Wayland
14 Day Danube River Cruise with Budapest & Prague Budapest to Regensburg, Monarch Princess
4.2/5 - Very Good
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
3
Professional Staff
3
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2019

Greatly appreciated the sessions that included information on the next days ports. Also found the on site mini tours of each port very enjoyable. Although we elected to go on much of the optional paid tours, it was great to learn some background information of each site.

AC
Anne
11 Day Danube River Cruise with Budapest Regensburg to Budapest, Monarch Princess
4.6/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
3
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Apr 21, 2019

I will only book Gare 1 going forward. This was an excellent experience.

AM
Amanda
Reviewed on Apr 17, 2019

I would suggest that the hotel in Paris be changed to an air conditioned hotel. The rooms were terribly uncomfortable

MS
Marilyn
Reviewed on Apr 17, 2019

The entire process was efficient and professional. Brandon's email's were timely and detailed. A group of 6 booked and travel together; it was helpful to have one of our group reach out for questions and to book our excursions. She then emailed us afterward; this saved us time and I appreciated Affordable Tours embracing this process. The trip was AMAZING and the luck of having perfect spring weather was perfect. GATE 1 provided first class tours and guides. Early arrival to most attractions afforded us the opportunity to beat the crowds and have a perfect experience.

SB
Suzanne
Reviewed on Apr 11, 2019

The river cruise was exceptional. The staff were accommodating and friendly. All of the excursions were awesome

MC
Mary

Although we had to cut our trip short due to an illness. Shannon was there to make sure everything was taken care of.

JD
Joanne

Gate 1 was an excellent tour provider. They were attentive to tourists needs and even anticipated things to make the trip go smoothly, They provided excellent local guides and introduced us to local foods to enhance our experience of China.

RK
Russell

Our tour agent, Allyson, was very helpful and kept us in constant touch about itinerary changes.

YC
Yuemei

The land portion of the tour lived up to my expectations. However, I was disappointed with the river cruise because (1) dining room staff was inexperienced (2) none of the staff addressed me by name (3) food selection was slim and uninteresting (4) entertainment on the cruise was limited (5) this cruise can not compare with the river cruises I have taken with Viking

DL
Dawn

Most hotels met or exceeded my expectations. Tour guides we're pleasant and knowledgeable, although one was very difficult to understand. Meals were good. Site seeing was exactly as described.2 of the hotels were a bit dated but 2 we're fantastic. Overall a great experience.

LA
Leslie

Gate one river cruises more than lived up to our expectation. Their staff was extremely professional and went out of their way to make our cruise a remarkable experience.

EP
Elisa

I don't remember seeing the room options and would have considered a cabin on a higher floor for more of a view. There is a lot of details and for an inexperienced traveler it can be overwhelming. Perhaps a mention of how the rooms work on a cruise would have been helpful.

KB
Karen

We would not book another river cruise because we were looking to have a relaxing romantic cruise and the cruising was done at night and then the river became to shallow due to lack of rain and we had to be put up in a hotel. Not a pleasant experience at all. The accommodations, food people etc was very good.

RN
Ronald

GateOne did a great job in every detail. We were pleased with the food, events, tours and staff. The complete tour was delightful. Thanks for a great experience!

RB
Rita

This River Cruise was wonderful we will book one again.

JT
John

The operator's staff was friendly, efficient, and professional. Would definitely travel with them again.

WD
William

Our Gate 1 tour manager was an expert and a delightful person.

JA
Jean

Second experience with Gate1 and on both occasions we had very knowledgeable guides and effective tour managers. The tour stops were well timed so we did not spend a lot of time in line anywhere. The service on the river ship was excellent, the food very good and we really enjoyed the somewhat casual dinner dress code and atmosphere.

MO
Mary

Based on this trip, we would definitely recommend Gate 1.

RG
Ruth

This was our first river cruise. It was also our first time using Affordable Tours. We would highly recommend it. We had a wonderful time. Russia was a great country to do it in. We enjoyed every minute. We enjoyed our guide Asia. She was very informative and fun to be with.

JD
Jane

An amazing trip in every way--staff, crew, and, in fact, all who worked on the boat gave A+++ service--have raved about the trip to all my friends. On-land accommodations were also commensurate with ship accommodations, including guides, bus drivers, and hotels and hotel staff. .

DS
Dale

Gate 1 service and food is excellent, while the price is lower than other operators. I can't imagine the other operators having sufficiently better service to justify paying more.

CS
Christina

We loved the casual atmosphere on the river cruise portion of the trip. Our guides throughout were exceptional in their knowledge and personal relations. The entire staff was always friendly and helpful. There were so many good experiences and trips. We were exhausted by the last day. Maybe too many good experiences with too little time to explore on our own. We were able to see so much for a very reasonable cost. Hopefully, another Gate 1 trip is in our future.

EL
Elaine

am a long-term traveler with gate 1 so i obviously consider they provide a good program; amsterdam tour pretrip couldn't have been better, river ship staff & services great; however, the 2 gate 1 tour directors on board the river ship could have provided better service--local guides did most of the am local tours, afternoons were largely free, only extra activities provided was an hour game program in the afternoon & a morning exercise program along with early bird breakfast--both provided by the male tour director; the ship's pianist only played briefly; several travelers who were new to gate 1 were complaining about too much free time & i went out of my way to explain that this was unusual; i need to mention that, along with being a gate 1 traveler, we have also taken 5 other river boat cruises;

MA
Mary

First time on a river cruise will definitely book another. We enjoyed the smaller cruise line and the staff went above and beyond to make you comfortable. The food was excellent with so many selections to chose from. Amsterdam and Belgium were amazing. I can't say enough about this wonderful experience. Thank you again gate 1!

LT
Lois

The trip was everything I expected. The staff was very helpful and hotel arrangements were very good and well placed in the cities we visited.


AffordableTours.com BBB Business Review

Better Business Bureau

AffordableTours.com is a proud recipient of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) awards 2006-2020 with A+ Rating.

It Pays To Refer! Earn Up To $200!

It's simple: Sign up your friends, family, and anyone to us and when they book you will receive an American Express gift card worth up to $200 in the mail for simply referring.

Read More

Get discounts by Email!