1-800-342-0019 Speak to a River Cruise Expert

Avalon Waterways Cruises Reviews

4.3/5 - Excellent

Based off 1,085 Reviews

Avalon Waterways River Cruises Customer Reviews

Overall Rating
4.3
Accommodations
4.4
Itinerary
4.3
Professional Staff
4.5
Repeat with Operator
4.2
Value for Money
4.1

We Are Committed To:

Call Us For a Free Quote at 1-800-342-0019

Guaranteed Low Prices on Avalon Waterways River Cruises

Ratings based off 1,085 reviews about Avalon Waterways River Cruises - currently showing 50 reviews with comments only
KK
Kenneth
Fascinating Vietnam, Cambodia & The Mekong River With Bangkok - Northbound 2020
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Feb 03, 2020

Great trip for cultural experiences with local people, customs and way of life.

DH
Donna
Reviewed on Nov 30, 2019

Avalon River Cruise was wonderful. Accommodations, meals and crew were all amazing. The only negative was the bus tours to the Christmas Markets which falls on the tour guides. They did not take into consideration the passengers ability to keep up with the tour and spent too much time on other aspects of the tour and rushed us through the markets. Would be better if the bus dropped us off and the markets and let us walk around and tell us up front a meeting place to return to the ship.

AW
Adrienne

Our river cruise was excellent especially visiting Omaha Beach which was the highlight of the whole experience. We enjoy meeting people from all over the world. The food was superb and our room was very comfortable.

DZ
Diann

Love Avalon river cruises. This was our third and we love it!!

JR
Janet

The ship is beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. Avalon seems to attract a very friendly and social group of travelers. It is also welcoming to the solo traveler.

RF
Robin
The Danube From The Black Sea To Budapest - Cruise Only Westbound 2019
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2019

This was probably the best cruise we have ever taken and we travel a lot. Autumn from Affordable is the best. She was always there when I needed her and so accommodating. The ship Passion was a 10 plus in every way from the rooms to the tours, food and staff. I liked that they had healthy choices at every meal.

JK
Jeffrey
Reviewed on Oct 22, 2019

All good. Stop at a gift shop in Normandy would be nice.

BS
Barbara
Fascinating Vietnam, Cambodia & The Mekong River With Hanoi & Ha Long Bay - Northbound 2019
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Oct 10, 2019

Avalon Waterways was a very efficient first class operation. Loved all the cultural excursions that made us truly understand the people in the countryside of Vietnam and Cambodia. Some highlights - an Ox-cart ride to a farmer's home, Tuk-Tuk transportation to the magnificent Angkor Wat, boat excursion with lunch and a cave walk in Halong Bay, and pedi-cab to the Kings Palace in Phenom Penh. I'd definitely book an Avalon tour again.

AC
Alice
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2019

Avalon tours run smoothly. The ships, food, excursions, etc. are all first class.

PP
Patricia
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2019

The trip I booked was everything promised. The Paris to Normandy trip was great as was the extension trip to London. I appreciated the ability to upgrade the train trip to first class.

JD
Judith
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2019

Phil.... is THE REASON I took this trip and had a marvelous time! HE is THE ONLY help I need from now on in booking trips ANYWHERE! 

VF
Vicki

It was my second trip with Avalon, everything was great as it was for the Daube cruise. Highly recommend them.

SR
Sheila
Reflections On The Seine With 1 Night Mont St. Michel - Southbound 2019
4.6/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
3
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2019

Great trip, great service, couldn't visit Rouen because of a chemical fire, which we really missed. Had to stay on the boat at another small town because of this issue. Would have rather sailed more. This trip was pricey but we enjoyed it. Trip was suppose to include WiFi on the coaches but we did not have access to WiFi at all.

JD
Joseph

We enjoyed the Avalon Magnificent Europe River Cruise very much. It was everything we expected and more. The crew and staff on the ship were outstanding.

RD
Robert

The entire trip was incredible with the exception of one excursion. We not only took this trip for our 50th Anniversary but the experience of the 75th Anniversary of D-Day was of equal importance as my wife and I both had relatives involved in the campaign. The excursion for that purpose was a tremendous disappointment. The entire day was dedicated for that excursion, so we anticipated we would stop for lunch. During the morning leg of the tour we made a stop for more than an hour at the British landing area to basically go to a museum and as the tour guide suggested, to shop for souvenirs. Lunch wound up being another long drawn out affair as we had a three course meal with coffee which encompassed more than another hour. In my opinion a box lunch with a beverage would have been totally appropriate and saved a lot of time. As we started our afternoon travel, the tour guide started complaining that we were behind schedule and would have to make up time somewhere. When we finally arrived at Omaha Beach, which should have been the focal point of the day, we were told we had to be back on the bus in 15 minutes. Mostly everyone on the bus were irritated at this announcement. As we entered Omaha Beach we passed what looked to be large museum with lots of artifacts in front. We drove right past it on the way in and again on the way out. This entire day tour was entirely mismanaged and poorly timed out. We did not go on this particular excursion to go shopping or for a 3 course meal as our priority. Our priority was to spend the majority of our time experiencing the D-Day Anniversary, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery. Very sad to not get what we expected.

CS
Charles

I'm very glad I chose Avalon. They will be my first choice in the future. Great crew and staff, nice tours, great food, wonderful ship.

TN
Thomas
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2019

The ship was very smooth. Staff was outstanding and worked to fill your wishes. Food prepared let one experience the local cuisine. I put on weight, diet starts now. Weather cooperated for our trip and it didn't rain.

TD
Tracey

Avalon vs. Viking: I would probably go back to Viking, but each has it's favorable points and room for improvement. The Avalon ship was spotless and the staff was quite good. The food was fine. The Cruise Director was the best I have experienced anywhere. The cabin was spacious, but I missed having the lanai. The guides were great and timing was spot-on. The onboard entertainer was mediocre at best, though, and that really was a downer. On our Viking cruise two years ago, the onboard entertainer was awesome and a good part of our social time was spent enjoying him in the lounge. This guy on Avalon could not sing and his music was intended for the 80 year old+ audience. No one danced or sang along. Disappointing. One of the special music guests was incredibly good, and the other was incredibly bad.

RC
Ronald
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2019

This was our first river cruise. We had taken a motor coach tour before. It is truly advantageous to take your room with. The crew of the ship were great. The cruise director was great. Overall the cruise was a fun trip and a great value.

JE
Judith

We had a wonderful time on this trip. I am an experienced traveler although this was my first River Cruise. Rest assured it won't be my last. Ed has traveled in this country, but this was his first overseas adventure. He can't wait to go back. My only criticism is I would have preferred the extra days at the end of the trip instead of the beginning. After being awake all night(I don't sleep on planes), we were in no shape to tour museums, and they are closed on Mondays. If our two days were at the end of the trip, we would not have been tired on arriving from the ship and in better shape to tour that day. Other than that, we couldn't have been happier. The crew, the accommodations, the food, and the tours were all excellent. We are planning on making our next trip on Avalon.

DS
David

Better than a 5 star hotel.

DD
Dawn
Romantic Rhine With 3 Nights Paris & 3 Nights London - Northbound 2019
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Aug 27, 2019

Our Avalon Waterways river cruise was phenomenal! So much fun! The cruise director was wonderful! The staff and the wait service are going to be missed! The excursions kept us up and moving everyday, which was expected. The local guides were all great! It was a dream vacation for sure! A guided tour of Europe was our best decision. Very happy indeed!

RS
Rose

The Avalon staff were very professional and courteous. The trip was full of adventure and a packed itinerary. The ship was nice but if I were to book another river cruise I would pick the top floor and closer to the front to avoid the noise from the engines. The rooms were spacious and I loved the balcony doors that opened up. And the food was delicious!

JB
Judith
Romantic Rhine With 1 Night Lucerne, Mount Pilatus & 3 Nights Lake Como - Southbound 2019
4.6/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
3
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2019

Basically a great trip but a few exceptions. Some of the excursions (Black Forest Cuckoo Clock and Heideberg Castle) had very long bus rides for a somewhat short visit to the site,. The Cuckoo Clock stop was just a tourist trap store with many clocks. Most of the Local Guides were great except one at Heidelberg Castle named Charlotte, who had the Gentle Walker Group. SHe stood in one place in the hot sun and talked talked talked, then ran to the next spot leaving her group in the dust. The "First Class High Speed Train" was neither first class or high speed. Tight seating, no food and long stops at stations. Our guide in LucerneUrsula was a delight! Lake Como for 3 nights was great to have free time to do what you pleased. Don't miss the boat tour and stop in Belagio!

PS
Paula

Our Avalon cruise exceeded our expections. We had a great staff, great tours, and met wonderful people.

JM
John
Active & Discovery on the Danube with 2 Nights Salzburg Area & 1 Night Munich – Westbound 2019
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Aug 18, 2019

Our Cruise Director Yony was fabulous our waiter/waitress

PQ
Patricia
Fascinating Vietnam, Cambodia & The Mekong River With Hanoi, Ha Long Bay & Bangkok - Northbound 2019
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Aug 09, 2019

We were happy with the services of Avalon Waterways, the tour was very good. We felt the hotel in Ha Long Bay and in Bangkok were below standard, and the tour guide in Bangkok was horrible. Everything else was great.

BP
Bonnie

all was great

RR
Randall
Reviewed on Jul 30, 2019

This was our first river cruise and the ship, the crew, the level of service and the food met or mostly exceeded our expectations. I would recommend Avalon Waterways to anyone.

BR
Brian
Reviewed on Jul 30, 2019

We got exactly what we were looking for. The river cruise on Avalon was such a great experience and we will surely do another one in the future.

GW
Gwenda

Very pleasant and helpful and resulted in significant savings versus booking directly.

JJ
John

Everything went as planned and schedules. Excellent tour guide, Isabel was always available and kept us well informed. Two come n on board entertainment groups were a highlight. Very versatile. .

WS
William

Trip was great and everything went smooth except for getting thru the airports. This of course was not your fault. Will think twice before taking another international flight.

TZ
Teresita
Reviewed on Jun 21, 2019

My granddaughter and I had a great time. We enjoyed everything from flight to and flight back home. The staff on board the ship were very pleasant, food service and entertainments were fantastic and the cruise excursions were super. 5 star all the way..Very organized vacation.

SM
Stephen

I did not like that the back of the boat had a private party sign posted at least twice and may more so I could not access the coffe station and pastries. This is why I gave Avalon a agree instead of a strongly agree. Maybe I would try another cruise line.

JQ
Jill

Nina was just terrific, very informed about traveling with tips to help novice travelers. Any questions we had she answered promptly, found all the discounts she could which made the tip more affordable for us. I would highly recommend her as we are going to use her to book again for our next adventure.

RA
Robert
Reviewed on May 28, 2019

I was a bit skeptical when I booked but that went away the first day. Everyone was very helpful and everything was fabulous, hope we can do another trip soon.

LW
Lynn
Rhine & Rhône Revealed With 2 Nights Aix-en-provence & 2 Nights Nice - Southbound 2019
4.6/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
3
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on May 28, 2019

Trip was GREAT! WEre somewhat disappointed that high speed train from Arle to AIX was cancelled ( did not happen).

KT
Kathy

Absolutely wonderful cruise!!! Accommodations were lovely and service by all crew was beyond what one might ever expect. The food was incredible and the waiters were so much fun. The excursions were very good! This historian who was on the cruise was extremely knowledgeable and the evening lectures very good!

DS
Dorothy

I would have liked a better description of the land tours. For instance -Eat your way around Paris should have stated it was a walking tour.

CS
Cynthia

Our Cruise Director, Akos, did a wonderful job making the necessary changes to our itinerary due to the high water situation. He and the staff were always helpful when having questions about a variety of situations. A pleasure being on the Avalon Envision!

BW
Beth

This was our first trip on a river boat. The Avalon staff was exceptional! We were treated like kings and queens.

JB
Janet

OUr cruise was exactly as described and actually exceeded our expectations. Everything was so well done. Ship was great. Staff wonderful. Food excellennt. Couldn't have asked for moore.

AM
Angelo

Avalon was wonderful to us. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to help in anyway. Very positive experience. The food also was delicious.

KS
Kristi
Reflections On The Seine With 1 Night Mont St. Michel - Southbound 2019
4.6/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
3
Reviewed on May 19, 2019

A very well tenet mean and courteous staff that is willing to see to tour every need.

RH
Robert

Very enjoyable, relaxing experience. The accommodations, excursions, and service were exceptionally good.

JD
James

Very well organized - from the arrival to departure there was never an issue. Everything was clearly explained daily. Basel to Amsterdam is the better direction to travel.

JL
James
Active & Discovery On The Danube With 3 Nights Prague - Eastbound 2019
4.6/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
3
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on May 03, 2019

Overall a great trip since my wife and I did a lot of things on our own with the Captain's blessing like riding bikes along the Danube and meeting the boat at the next port. If you are looking for an active trip with lots to do, Avalon's Active Discovery cruise would be for you.

CB
Catherine

Tulip Time lead one to believe there would be more experiences with gardens than Keukenhof. That garden was spectacular, but was the only time we saw tulips or other spring blooms. Could have used more time in Amsterdam to tour the old section by foot as well as the cruise through the canal. That cruise was very good by the way. The tour guides were great. They had a vast knowledge of the area we were touring and very pleasant. Berthe, Lupii and Willem in particular were very good guides.

GS
Gaurang

WE were happy with our river cruise and the staff was very attentive.


AffordableTours.com BBB Business Review

Better Business Bureau

AffordableTours.com is a proud recipient of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) awards 2006-2020 with A+ Rating.

It Pays To Refer! Earn Up To $200!

It's simple: Sign up your friends, family, and anyone to us and when they book you will receive an American Express gift card worth up to $200 in the mail for simply referring.

Read More

Get discounts by Email!